Flu in Peru

I have not been able to post anything to the blog because I seem to have come down with the flu. I have not had much energy to do very much of anything and have been trying to sleep it off so I am nice and healthy for Machu Picchu tomorrow!

The night before I got sick Ashley (another volunteer) and I went to a bar near the Plaza de Armas to watch a band play. The bar was down this old road that looked like it had not been changed for over 100 or so years.  The bar was called the 7 Angelitos. The band that we saw play was a Doors, Led Zeppelin, Pink Floyd cover band.  They were so much fun and everyone was up dancing and singing!

I have been taking plenty of pictures lately and hope to have a couple posts up right when we get back from Machu Picchu (one post mainly about the beautiful street art of Peru).

I’d have to say even though I have not been feeling the greatest I have experienced the most TLC from strangers and new friends than I ever have.  My host mother has been giving me breakfast in bed, making me soups and making sure I take all the necessary medicine at the right times.

Because I was sick yesterday I missed out on a tour I had already paid for and most of the time the agencies cannot rebook it.  However, the woman from the agency came over to our house last night with a list of recipes for natural remedies and the good news that she was able to rebook my entire tour. I could not believe how helpful she was.  All of my hosts mother’s friends were also calling to make sure I was doing alright.

It’s definitely been hard being sick in another country but I’d have to say that through the help of everyone around me I have been feeling a lot better.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Flu in Peru

  1. Neil R.A. says:

    WOW. The pictures of your travels are amazing. I hope you get better real soon ’cause you got to scale that beast of a mountain 😛

Leave a Reply

