I have arrived!

Greetings from Peru! I finally got my personal internet working and can start blogging.

The last 2 days have been quite eventful to say the least. On May 1st I flew out of from LAX to Lima, Peru at 9pm.

Silly me, I thought I would sleep on the plane. That didn’t happen. After I arrived in Lima I caught another plane to Cuzco, Peru which took about 45 min.  Somehow I slept through most of that.

As we started to land I looked all around me. The entire airport was surrounded by mountains.

Everything felt so hidden and everything was so beautiful and green.  Living in Los Angeles I definitely do not see too much of that.

Waiting for me at the entrance of the airport was my new host mother.  She had a sign with my name on it and a bright smile.

Hola, como estas? Como era el avion? Estas cansado? (I apologize for the poor Spanish punctuation, have not figured it quite out on this blog site) Questions began to pour in and I had to remind myself that I was going to have to change gears completely for the next month. I tried to put some words together. Enough to say, “Hello, it’s beautiful here and I’m exhausted.”

Once we got to my new house I immediately felt at home.

Maria Elena put no pressure on me and told me most volunteers pass out for the entire first day. I did just that. Oh! And right before that the house cook prepared a delicious meal called Arroz Cubana (Almost the same idea as fried rice) with a toasty fried banana.  Finished the meal. Drank some Te de Coca and passed out for the rest of the day.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I have arrived!

  1. MEGAN VELEZ says:

    Love that you’re doing this? I had no idea. How in the world did you get involved in something like this. So excited and proud of you!!! XOXO
    Meg

  2. Dad says:

    You are a STAR! Your comments are great and your Spanish is flawless. I am so glad you are having this experience. It will help you grow into a citizen of the planet. Remember that I love you and miss you.

    Love,

    Dad

Leave a Reply

